One of my pet peeves – Bad MLS photos

If your home is currently for sale and you have it listed with a real estate agent, do yourself a favor and either pull up your listing on the public MLS site http://centraloregonrealtors.com/, Realtor.com, etc. or ask your agent to email you the client detail for your home. It’s really important that you know how your agent is marketing your home and that you know what home buyers see when they view your home online. Nearly 90% of home buyers are using the internet to shop for homes. The National Association of Realtors asked those internet home buyers which features they found most valuable and 83% said high quality photos. I’ll say it again; 83% said high quality photos. Please explain to me then why I find appalling photos like these in the MLS. Make sure to click on the photos to enlarge them and see how bad they really are.

I don't even know what they're trying to say with this photo.

I don't even know what they're trying to say with this photo.

Plenty of counter space and ample storage.

Plenty of counter space and ample storage.

Great for dogs, kids, and outdoor entertaining. If the yard looks this bad, don't include a photo.

Great for dogs, kids, and outdoor entertaining. If the yard looks this bad, don't include a photo.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Nice wall. Does he come with the house?

Nice wall. Does he come with the house?

Spacious laundry room? Washer/dryer not included?

Spacious laundry room? Washer/dryer not included?

The absolute worst. This home has been on the market 192 days and still no photos.

The absolute worst. This home has been on the market 192 days and still no photos.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
These are just photos I came across today while browsing new listings, price reductions, etc. Perhaps I shouldn’t judge. Maybe these homeowners told their agent that they really don’t want the house to sell so please make it look as bad as possible so we don’t have to be bothered with any showings.
Another pet peeve is spelling mistakes in the marketing remarks and photo captions. I totally get that a lot of people out there are not good spellers. Please use spell check then, or ask someone in your office to proof read for you. The following photo captions were all included in the same listing. 5 out of the 10 photos had spelling mistakes or typos.
Large Corner lot. Comcplete with the white pickit fence.
New laminate florring thrughout.
Decorater colors.
Remoldeled bathroom.
Master sweet.

I vow to keep a file with bad MLS photos and I will be updating periodically.

2 comments

  1. Sophie B · · Reply

    You are a delight. I will give you my crown as the “Mary Poppins” (per husband) of Central Oregon R.E. Brokers anytime. He thinks my standards are too high, but really “master sweet”, what are they getting at??!!
    S

  2. Hi Cheri: I also appreciate your humor regarding poorly taken pictures. I preach to our members to take good shots, or don’t post them. I have my own collection of bad shots to get my point across.

    I am an active member of the COAR and have been an agent in Bend since 1996. While I disagree that people should pull their listings because the pictures are bad, I would agree that some pictures could be replaced, or removed until a better one can be taken.

    A lot of times, sellers do not prepare their homes prior to us arriving to take interior shots. We don’t have two hours to clean the clients’ home and sometimes seller’s don’t put much effort into this important topic. I’ve done my share of tidying up, and limit rooms because some are just “tornado stricken.” One easy way to get a good shot of a bathroom is to simply close the lid!

    The typos? YES, excellent point. I enjoyed your blog!

    Cindy King, Principal Broker
    GRI, CRS, ABR
    Steve Scott Realtors

Leave a Reply

