June 2008 Real Estate Statistics

Man I feel like I’m on the ball! It’s July 1st and I already compiled the stats for June. I decided to take a new approach. I included a column specifically for the “Contingent” status. Normally I group these in with the active listings because so many contingent offers don’t close and because we can still actively market the property and accept a non-contingent offer. Most sellers are very reluctant to accept contingent offers and to be quite honest, I don’t like it when my buyers ask me to write them. I suspect that in the current market, we’re going to see more and more sellers accept contingent offers, therefore, I included a separate column to track these properties. I can tell you that in June 2007, there were 1972 properties for sale and only 10 contingent offers accepted. As of June 30, 2008, there are 2319 properties for sale and 82 contingent offers have been accepted. I don’t have the information for March and April in front of me but I might be able to find them for comparison. Here’s the summary:

 

Active

Contingent

Pending

Sold

     June

2301

82

180

119

     May

2132

70

193

115

     April

2003

 

201

102

     March

2009

 

194

82

 

Detailed stats can be viewed here:  June 2008 Real Estate Statistics

Leave a Reply

