Does this seem unethical or is it just me?

Wednesday morning I called the owner of a listing that came up as expired in the MLS. He agreed to meet with me so I dropped off my prelist packet that afternoon and made an appointment to meet the owner at the house Thursday at 4:00pm. This morning, the day of the appointment, I was working on a CMA for the property so I pulled the house up in the MLS and much to my surprise the status had been changed back to active. I was shocked obviously (why things like this still shock me in this business I don’t really know) and disappointed. It was a good little house, just overpriced and I really thought I could help this owner sell the property. I immediately called the owner to say, “Hey, I see you decided to relist your property with the same agent so I don’t see the point in meeting with you this afternoon.” Now here’s where it gets good. The owner was also surprised!  He said, “Well I called my agent last night to tell him I’d been getting a lot of phone calls from other agents telling me that my listing contract had expired. I also told him I had no idea it was about to expire because I hadn’t heard anything from him in at least a month but I didn’t agree to relist with him.” (Another reason I was excited about this listing. His current agent sounds really lazy.) Hold up, wait a minute, did this agent just take the liberty to extend the expiration date without his client’s authorization? That’s what it sounds like to me! According to the homeowner, he did not sign anything and did not tell the agent he was going to relist the property with him. In fact, he told the agent he was going to meet with me this afternoon. Right now everything is on hold. I told the homeowner to get everything cleared up with this agent and get back to me. I’m going to call him tomorrow to see if they’ve gotten everything straightened out but I will be shocked if this guy sticks with this agent after all this. Then again, maybe I shouldn’t be. I’ll let you know how this all pans out.

One comment

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Chris Moran

Leave a Reply

